I finally have internet again!

And just in time too…only about an hour before I finished my latest book. The book is called Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr, and let me tell you, it’s fantastic. To be honest, I was never really interested in it when I saw it on the shelf at the bookstore. Nothing about it roused my curiosity enough to even read the synopsis on the jacket. Boy am I glad I borrowed it from Mary, because this book is a great one.
Another YA (which stands for young adult, if you didn’t already know) novel. If it seems like I read a lot of those it’s because I do read a lot of them. I think there are many YA novels whose quality far surpass that of a large percentage of adult literature.
http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=Bibliograph07-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=0061214671&fc1=F3EDED&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=040404&f=ifr
The novel follows four main characters: Aislinn (pronounced ASH-lynn), Keenan, Donia, and Seth. Aislinn has always been able to see faeries, and must hide this fact, for if the fey knew she was “sighted” she would be in danger. She is being followed by Keenan and Donia for reasons unknown to the reader until later in the novel (I won’t say why…you have to read it and figure it out yourself). Basically…their plotlines get all jumbled up and Aislinn is forced to make a difficult and painful choice. Pretty general, but I don’t want to give anything away!
Marr’s novel is a bit difficult to comprehend at the start. There are many references to things that the reader is unaware of, which makes for a great deal of confusion. I found myself growing frustrated with this. Yet this obscurity also made me curious, and I pressed on. As the novel unfolds, Marr reveals larger pieces of the overall picture until all is understood. This initial frustration is literally the only thing I did not like about this novel.
The rest is golden. First, for those who know just how much I love faery lore: Marr spells “faery” in the correct way! Or at least the way I prefer. She’s also got some pretty accurate information, and chooses to use the old lore of the “fair folk” from Britain, in which faeries are not cute, small, and mischievous, but tall, powerful, and very dangerous. The whole time I read about these creatures the way Marr chose to portray them, I was giddy. Several of the sources she used for research are sources that I have used for my own research in papers I’ve written. I think Marr and I could be good friends 🙂 It’s so nice to see someone do faeries right.
But since I’m pretty sure none of you care as much about the accuracy of faery portrayal as I do, I’ll move on. The characters and plot should be addressed together. What is so gripping about this book is that there is no clear side to take. There is one major baddie, the Winter Queen, who the reader obviously knows to hate. But when it comes to Aislinn and Seth vs. Keenan and Donia, one really does not know who to side with. Their purposes are conflicting, yet both pairs strive for goals which are good. Marr makes it seem as if there is no way to compromise and allow both parties to achieve satisfaction, which makes for an intense, suspenseful plot and a huge amount of tension between the characters (and in the reader!). I couldn’t relax while reading this book. Which may sound bad to some, but in my opinion, the books that make your breathing short and stress you out are the best kind, because you just care that much about the world the author has created. Major kudos to Marr for that.
Another thing I love about this book: Yes, it’s part of a series, but the author still gives the novel a definite conclusion. It’s not one of those endings in which the character is about to die but oh! book’s over. Have to wait another eight months and pay another $17.95 plus tax to find out what happens. Major kudos again to Marr for that.
This author, and this series, are now very high on my list. Very good, though the audience for this is selective. Unlike Hunger Games, there is no real literary value in this book. It’s pretty much only for mindless enjoyment, and you have to like a certain kind of book within a certain genre in order to enjoy this one. Still, for those whose tastes lie in this realm, this novel (and most likely the series to follow) is one you don’t want to miss.

Leave a Reply

