My heart is sad

http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=Bibliograph07-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=0439023513&fc1=F3EDED&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=040404&f=ifrSuzanne Collins has broken it into little tiny pieces.  I was not going to write a separate review for Mockingjay, but after finishing it this afternoon, I thought I might write a few words, in loving memory of a series I once loved so well.

Hunger Games and its sequel Catching Fire built up to what all of us Collins-lovers thought would be a triumphant ending. Instead, readers at the end of Mockingjay are left miserable.  One friend put it, “I felt like I needed to take an antidepressant after I finished it.”

Don’t get me wrong–the book has its moments.  It is exciting and emotional, with a heroine divided between two opposing (and equally evil) forces, and two different young men who love her.  But what is so disappointing about this book is the tragedy of it.  Maybe we, as readers of a young adult series, set ourselves up for this heartbreak. It is natural to assume that in a YA series, the author will pen a happy ending to a series, simply because that’s typical of YA literature.  However, upon reaching the end of Mockingjay, I was shocked.  I turned the pages looking for more text, only to find that it was, in fact, over.  Honestly, I don’t believe this book is even appropriate for youth–the themes and content are very graphic, violent, heavy, and depressing.  The tiny (infinitesimal) upturn which Collins includes at the end of the book is not enough to alleviate the utter hopelessness that pervades the text from beginning to end.  Truly, I was disappointed.  My only thought is that perhaps she buried some analogy to life or to history deep in this conclusion to the series and I will only discover it upon another reading.  But I have to confess, unlike with Hunger Games and Catching Fire, I don’t want to read this one again. And honestly, it’s made me not want to re-read the others either. 

Collins–do over?

Leave a Reply

