I see your true colors shining through

This song was playing in my head the entire time I was reading this book.  It doesn’t help that it was on the playlist at work…

I borrowed True Colors by Kristin Hannah from my dear friend Jenna, who mentioned that she and several of her friends who like Kristin Hannah had a difficult time getting into this book–despite having tried to read it many times. I viewed this as a challenge.  I triumphed, because I finished the book, but I did so with difficulty. I didn’t care for it that much.  Though I’ve heard that her better-known book, Firefly Lane, is incredibhttp://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=Bibliograph07-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=B002IVV3D2&fc1=F3EDED&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=040404&f=ifrle, I have a difficult time believing it.

Hannah’s style is very elementary.  There is minimal character development, with characters that are stock in many chick lit novels (which this undeniably is): the insecure one, the pretty one, the peacemaker, the stoic, the bad ass, the rebel kid, etc.  Winona especially was so irritating I wanted to reach into the pages and strangle her.  This is not due to Hannah’s intention and skill with words, but more to do with a desire to drive home her point about Winona’s insecurities.  Instead of doing this with a few graceful words, her overzealous attempt makes Winona into a middle-aged yet preschool-like whiner. Slap slap!

In addition, the dialogue feels forced and tremendously cliche. I often felt that characters in deliberation with each other made choices entirely too quickly, without enough discussion or thought.  And Hannah’s use of overused phrases did not aid the book’s quality.

All that being said, the plot was what kept me reading.  Of course it dragged in parts, but mostly, I was interested in what happened to the characters.  I wanted to see if Dallas was ever freed from prison, or if Winona lost weight, or if Noah followed in his dad’s footsteps.  Somehow Hannah kept me interested in the fate of her characters in the novel.

If you’re looking for a book that you don’t have to think much about (say, you want to read it on the beach, by the pool, between classes), this is it.  It’s quick and easy.

Leave a Reply

