Two posts in as many days!

http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=Bibliograph07-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=1450596185&fc1=F3EDED&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=040404&f=ifrThat’s something new. Won’t happen for a while.  I just finished The Hound of the Baskervilles, and I want to write about it while it’s fresh in my memory.

For those who don’t know (because I didn’t for a very long time), this is a Sherlock Holmes mystery.  Has anyone read any Sherlock Holmes? If you haven’t, I definitely recommend doing so.  They’re typically short and simple to read, but a great deal of fun.  I’ve posted a link to A Study in Scarlet as well, which is the first Holmes mystery.  Great stuff.

The Hound of the Baskervilles is a novel I’ve always wanted to read, since I was a little girl and I saw the Wishbone episode on PBS (I swear that dog is one of the reasons I love reading classics so much).  After a doctor seeks out Holmes and Watson on Baker Street with the details of a seemingly accidental death, Watson is sent to the haunting southern corner of England called Devonshire–Dartmoor to be more specific.  The setting is one of thick mist, rolling moorland, and sucking mire that (yes, seriously) drowns wild ponies. Creepy.

http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=Bibliograph07-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=1441412875&fc1=F3EDED&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=040404&f=ifrSo with a naturally mysterious setting, it’s no wonder that the novel is so inviting, but if that’s not enough for you, add into the mix a frightful legend about a hell-hound that hunts and kills members of a certain family, an psycho convict escaped from prison and loosed on the moors, mysterious lights in windows, horrifying screams and cries from the wilderness, and why wouldn’t you read this?  Watson plays his typical bumbling fool part, though he’s learning Holmes’ ways.  Holmes is his usual crafty self, and who doesn’t love Sherlock Holmes? He’s arrogant, sure, but that’s one of the things I love about him, mostly because he deserves it.  It’s endearing the way he’s always right, even when it looks like he is stumped.

I highly recommend any Holmes novel, though I think this is one of the better ones that I’ve read.  It’s exciting, surprising, and includes that air of the supernatural that always makes any mystery more intriguing.

Leave a Reply

