Week 5–A Kiss of Shadows

This week’s book was…eh.  A Kiss of Shadows by Laurel K. Hamilton is the first book in the Meredith Gentry series. I own the next three but I’m not sure I really have any desire to read them.  I really don’t feel like writing much about it because I genuinely feel like there was very little merit to this book.

http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=Bibliograph07-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=0345423402&fc1=F3EDED&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=040404&f=ifrMeredith Gentry is a princess of the sidth, a powerful and seductive race of fey.  The novel takes place in either the future, or a present whose history is slightly different from our reality.  The general population is aware of fairies, and the American government even has laws governing their treatment of humans, and humans’ treatment of fairies. 

The novel, I felt, had no direction, and the plot was interrupted by Meredith’s numerous adventures in the bedroom.  I can barely remember what the beginning of the novel was about because the plot took so many twists. Unfortunately, they were not interesting twists, they were annoying ones.  Meredith starts out in hiding from her aunt, the Queen of Air and Darkness, because when she left her court she was marked for death. Basically, she proceeds to meet a bunch of men, sleep or have sexual encounters with most of them, and try to save her own skin through assassination attempts.  That’s what this novel essentially consists of–sex and attempted murder.  There’s also a lot of descriptions about muscly men in trench coats with long hair and perfectly kissable lips.  They remind me of men from Final Fantasy games–pretty boys in weird clothes. 

Even when it appeared something was about to happen, Merry would get stopped by a gazillion things before the thing actually happened.  It was just choppy and frustrating to read.  And of course, even through all the urgency and attempts at life-saving, Merry still has time to stop and have sex, or at the very least, lust after one or more of her contingent of pretty boys.  I mean, she’s a fairy, and they’re known as sexual beings, so at least she was accurate. Still…it was overwhelming.

I suppose if you’re into erotica, it’s a great book, because there’s plenty of it. I’ve read Hamilton’s other series, Anita Blake, and I didn’t remember it being quite so…sexy.  It definitely was not my cup of tea. I need a little more substance in my books. 

Leave a Reply

