Week 7–Naamah’s Kiss

Ok friends, I’ve been MIA for a while. I finished a book last week, but it was Mossflower, about which I’ve already written enough.  This week’s book was Naamah’s Kisshttp://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=Bibliograph07-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=0446198048&fc1=F3EDED&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=040404&f=ifr, the seventh book in Jacqueline Carey’s Kushiel’s Legacy series.  This series is one of my favorites, as is this author. She writes incredibly creative fantasy fiction, and her characters are so real and in-depth that I actually cry over or feel anxious for them.

That being said, this is definitely my least favorite of all the series. Naamah’s Kiss is the first novel in the third trilogy in this series. It takes place about a century and a half after the events of the previous trilogy (which was just SO amazing, the books contained therein are hard to top).  Moirin, the heroine, is raised in the wilds of Alba (what in our world is Great Britain), and must journey to Terre D’Ange (France) in search of her destiny.  When she receives a call from her bear-god to journey to Ch’in (China) to rescue a princess from a horrible curse, she heeds it, and travels the world over, finding both romance and danger along the way.

Things I liked: creative story and sympathetic characters. Carey writes characters that I would love to know and have as my friends. I genuinely care about their fates, and my heart literally beats faster and my palms sweat when they’re in danger.

I felt like this novel, however, took a step away from what her novels usually are. Normally they are equal parts political intrigue and sex.  This novel felt heavy on the erotica, and was purely adventure. Not much espionage or intrigue, which I confess I did miss a lot.  Definitely not my favorite out of the series, but still so good. I still love these novels and plan on reading the next two in the trilogy.

Leave a Reply

