Week 20–A Novel Idea

I almost did not write a blog this week because I am ashamed of the book I read!  I needed a break from things that were long and difficult to get through, especially because I was simultaneously reading Oliver Twist. So I picked up one of the stripped mass market books I got for free when working for Barnes & Noble ages ago, and set to.

http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=Bibliograph07-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=1416907858&fc1=F3EDED&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=040404&f=ifrA Novel Idea is a teeny-bopper book through and through (hence why I’m ashamed, but hey…we all have our guilty pleasures).  I won’t spent much time on it and I won’t recommend it, because all it’s really good for is poolside reading, and if there’s a single book that no one who follows my blog will read, it’s this one. Still, it’s the only book I finished this week, so I write as proof that I read a book, as I was supposed to.

Nora is an unpopular, bookish high school junior who starts a book group so that she can look better on her college applications.  Though she constantly expects the group to flop, it becomes surprisingly successful when the group realizes that they all have a passion for the same local celebrity author, and make it their mission to have her do a book signing at the store where they meet.  Along the way, Nora meets the snobbish Francesa, who hides an embarrassing past, the stand-offish Neil, and unexpected heart-throb James, for whom she falls hard.  After an almost-kiss, Nora schemes ways to make James jealous enough to pursue her.  A comedy of errors ensues with James guessing her scheme, dates gone strangely awry, and members of the group falling for the wrong people.  The plot is predictable, the characters shallow, and the language simple and common.  I liked it, but only because it was a welcome break from other things I’ve been reading (i.e. Oliver Twist and a novel about the Civil War…heavy).

If you need a book to take to the beach or the pool, this is it. Other than that, it’s not really worth the time or the money you would pay for it. Good thing I got it for free 🙂

Leave a Reply

