Week 32, Part 3–Death on the Nile

Yes, I read three books last week. I was on vacation, and I had lots of time on the plane. Thought that I had enough material with two books, but I had to buy A Game of Thrones in a Canadian bookshop since I finished Death on the Nile by Agatha Christie about three days before I was set to leave.  Can’t go three days without something to read. Perish the thought!

http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=Bibliograph07-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=0062073559&fc1=F3EDED&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=040404&f=ifrDeath on the Nile was my least favorite Agatha Christie book that I’ve picked up so far (which is only three, so that’s not saying much). Maybe I’m reading them too close together, because I just finished Murder on the Orient Express (awesome) a few months ago, and I don’t really have much of an interest in mysteries. Still, she’s the queen, so I make an exception for her.

To be short, because I have a lot of blogs to write, and there’s not much new to say about Agatha, the novel rambles. A lot. The murder itself doesn’t come until halfway through the novel, and all the set-up made me snore.  If I’m reading a mystery, I need it to immediately grab my attention.  Some background and build-up is acceptable, but her attempt at action before the crime takes place is a flop.  That said, the events after the murder are non-stop and somewhat shocking.  In other words, thoroughly enjoyable.

Christie always does an excellent job of hiding her culprits in a sea of faces, each one equally suspicious. I confess that I get well and truly tangled in her plots and in the reasonings of the mind of Hercule Poirot.    He is adorable, and I love him, but his sharp mind far surpasses my own, and so instead of being able to put things together before he reveals them, I must wait for the final “ah-hah!” and allow the pieces to fall into place once I know the solution. He makes me feel dumb.  But I adore him, and admire her skill with characters.  They are exaggerated and somewhat ridiculously English, but her exploration of human psychology and the ability of virtually anyone to kill another human in the right circumstances never cease to impress me.  Once again, the criminal in this novel is someone the reader would never think to suspect; the cold, calculating, and unfeeling nature of this person is well-hidden behind a sociable manner until the revelation at the end.

Certainly the book is better in its second half than its first. Still, if you enjoy a good mystery, this one will not fail to amuse you.  Another blog coming soon, and then I’ll be caught up!

ex libris
Courtney

PS–I left you a surprise somewhere in the text. Have fun!

Leave a Reply

